Who knows?

I always believed that life has a plan, and it’s up to you to get on board, or struggle against the current. Well I didn’t always believe, I mean, my 37 years on this planet living this very human experience has eventually taught me that if you set your mind to it, put the wheels in motion, it usually ends up turning out the way you wanted, just maybe not in the way you expected.

So you all know about my endeavours to make my movie, “A Shiner’s War”. I’ve been wanting to post a second excerpt for a while, but I just try and go with the flow and not worry too much about all that. I’ve been busy submitting my script to agents, and following up, and suddenly out of the blue an opportunity presented itself, and although I resisted at first, because I’m scared, I couldn’t refuse it.

I’ve just submitted my application to start my Master’s degree in film, with Staffordshire University in England, in conjunction with the popular Raindance film festival. It will be an online distance course with me having to commute from Montreal to Toronto at least once a month for the following two years. Yikes!

This decision was not taken lightly, because my priority has always been, and will always be my children, but they are growing up. My daughter Lilyrose will start kindergarden this September, and my son will start in two years, and I will be left with an empty nest syndrome. I hesitated because I didn’t want to start a career that would keep me from them all the time, I still intend to be there for homework, bedtime, and all major events, but my own parents, as well as my husband, my sister, and my Raindance counsellor, have all pointed out that kids eventually make lots of friends, and don’t rely on their mothers for much, except maybe breakfast, lunch, and supper! What? This is news to me!

I am ambitious, and I have lots of ideas, and I always knew that this screenplay would lead me into something more, there was never a doubt in my mind I wanted to learn the process of filmmaking, and be part of that process, I just wasn’t sure how, and pouf, like a slap in the face, this Post-graduate degree hit hard. This will give me the skills to become a better writer, learn all there is to learn about producing, and even directing, and in the end I can chose to make my movie as my thesis, or any other project I want, like that online platform I told you about, which screenwriters so desperately need once they’ve finished their scripts.  The universe found a way for me to get to where I wanted to go, and as an added bonus, after the Master’s I could probably teach to pay off the enormous debt I’m about to incur. That’s if I am accepted, but seriously it almost feels like every single step I’ve taken in the last ten years was to lead me to this exact point in time. It’s very exciting to know that after all the trials and tribulations of my life, some good, some really bad that this is my payoff, it just makes me wonder with anticipation, what else is in store for me. Yay!

All I know is that this decision is scary as hell, and that’s probably a good sign. I’ll let you all know in a few short, nerve racking weeks if this was meant to be or not. Either way, accepted or not, I am one step closer to achieving my goals, and the best part is I get to do it on my own terms, surrounded by my loved ones.

Thanks Universe!

3 thoughts on “Who knows?

  1. Oh Kim – what a wonderful thing! I’m so excited for you and hope/pray that you get in. You are an amazing woman and I encourage you to tackle your dream. It’s never too late. I’ll be 50 this fall and feel like I’m just beginning.
    I’m sending every good thought and wish your way-
    hugs, too.
    Sue

  2. Fantastic news!!! Congratulations Kimberly!
    And indeed, who knows?! So that fabulous feeling of ”it almost feels like every single step I’ve taken in the last ten years was to lead me to this exact point in time.” is the exactly the same one I feel impatient to experience in my own life, Mahalia Jakson speaks of it the day she got up and sung at Civil Rights Movement March along side Martin Luther King Jr. Bliss.
    Thanks for the inspiration, good luck and hang in there!

Leave a Reply

