The Art of making friends

It is, for some, the easiest thing in the world, for others … well, impossible. As a child you could just turn around to the kid next to you, and ask them to play, and voilà, a best friend is born. As you get older, for some reason that just doesn’t work anymore. 

I am lucky in that it’s not too difficult to strike up a conversation, I get along with everybody, and can talk cars, Mars, chapstick, matchsticks, and bras, I’m easy going. However, my endeavour to produce, sell a movie is more than just shooting the breeze, I have to learn how to network, pitch, sell myself, and that to me, is VERY difficult.

Image

So how is my movie project coming along you ask? Well, it’s slowly, very slowly coming along. I’ve sent it out to maybe a dozen possible leads, some I’m more hopeful than others, but I’ve realized that the key to success will be networking. Shocker! For some reason I kept seeing it everywhere I read, and inquired about how to sell your script, and for some reason my brain kept skimming over it. I just didn’t want to have to sell my person, my idea, my script. Don’t get me wrong, I think my movie is great and I say that in all modesty, I worked really hard, and for a very long time, and I feel I produced something of quality, but getting read in the movie industry is the most difficult thing, harder than actually writing the thing. Agents, producers, movie networks will not look at you if you have not had some previous success. Catch 22 anyone!

And so, my brain finally had to recognize that networking, meeting people, and selling my idea is the only way to get the foot in the door. 

Once my brain was on board, a saw a bright light at the end of the tunnel. I’ve become a member of Raindance, and in looking for meetups with people in the biz, I’ve been offered to set up the Montreal based Raindance booze and schmooze … heh! heh!  What is that you ask? Well, it’s my foot in the door. Newbies in the business, oldies looking for newbies, actors, producers, writers, directors, and agents are all invited. I don’t suppose Mr. Cronenberg will be waltzing in, but it’s a start. Who knows, maybe  I’ll partner up with someone and we’ll get to make this movie together. 

The point is, making friends is all about putting yourself out there, and that’s exactly what I intend to do.

Yours truly,

K

5 thoughts on “The Art of making friends

  1. I’m so glad you are pushing ahead – that’s what it takes… determination and perseverance. I wish you all the best, my friend and I’ll be thinking of you on this journey!
    Sue

Leave a Reply

