This is not a Harry Potter review!

This is not a Harry Potter review. If you want an awesome review, go see Lainey Gossip. She is truly the #1 Potter fan, I am a mere reflection of her torch for J.K. Rowling. No, my story starts with Harry Potter, but ends with people and poor cinema etiquette.

Today’s story is not as bad as some other experiences I’ve had at the theatre, but still it’s something. It started with me sitting in the perfect spot, eager to watch Harry. I had my cinnamon pretzel, and pineapple smoothie, I had gone to the washroom, nothing was going to ruin this experience.

As the lights dimmed, something drew my attention, and in the corner of my eye, a flicker… It looked like the blink of a phone, and it totally distracted me. Someone shutting off their phone. I thought to myself. Flick! There it was again. I eventually took the time to look. Darkness… Darkness… then blip! Like the sonar of a submarine, my eyes narrowed on the bomb. My neighbour’s phone was flashing away at her feet. I couldn’t for the life of me understand how that did not put her off. Annoyed, I shifted in my seat, and figured she would eventually turn it off, or put it away, when she’d had enough. I pulled my leg up on the seat and blocked the irritating light, and submerged myself into my movie experience.  Eventually, my bum was sore, and I realized she was never going to turn it off.

So, with a twinkle in my eye, and as politely as possible I ask her to switch off her phone, and she gave me a look like I was the biggest loser on the planet. Like really! This itsy bitsy tiny little light is bothering you?Hmpf!” She says turning away! No, I’m totally exaggerating!!! She didn’t Hmpf me, but she did give me a look. Whatever! I was missing important dialogue, and I resumed my movie. Still, it boggles the mind. It’s like another time, a guy forgot to turn his cell phone off..! It happens, I get it! It has happened to me as well, but like any normal person, I quickly shut it off, and forewent from any conversation, however interesting it might have been. Not this guy! This guy picks up the call, and starts talking loudly, explaining the movie he’s watching. Say WHAT? Looking back now, it was funny, everybody was giving him the evil eye, he was totally oblivious.

No doubt you have all had a similar experience. Please share your stories. I’d love to hear them.

Kxxx

2 thoughts on “This is not a Harry Potter review!

  1. I was sitting behind 3 grown ups and 5 unruly kids who thought they were watching a movie in there living room. Talking as if nobody was there, running from one seat to another while the movie was playing, etc… Someone tried to Shh them but they were told to shut up, they paid for the movie and if they wanted to talk they could. Keep in mind that this was a kids movie (Hop). Finally the ushers came in and told them to leave. I felt bad for the kids for having such idiotic parents.

    • OMG, that’s terrible! At least they were kicked out, which is a satisfying ending, no doubt they cussed all the way out the door. I’ve heard so many horror stories, it’s a wonder we still go!

Leave a Reply

